Notices
04-06 Ralliart Engine/Drivetrain (no forced induction)

4g69 to 4g69 swap

Search this Thread

Old Feb 16, 2011, 08:33 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
4g69 to 4g69 swap

So.. My 05 r/a developed a rod knock a few weeks ago, and I've decided to do a swap. I have the old engine almost ready to come out but this being my first ever swap I am unsure of some things.
First of all I've searched for an answer to this question and I'm getting conflicting answers. Is it possible to pull the 4g69 out with the transmission still attached or do they need to be pulled separately?
Secondly, concerning the driveshafts, do they need to be pulled out of the driveshaft assembly or can I simply unbolt the assembly from the tranny? Sorry if that is a dumb question but I am a total newbie at this. Any help is appreciated, thanks all for your time,
Matt
Old Feb 16, 2011, 09:47 PM
EvoM Administrator

Received 11 Likes on 7 Posts
You should be able to pull it out with the trans attached, however, you'll make life easier for yourself if you detach the trans before pulling the engine. Not hard to do as it's only a few extra bolts.

As for the axles, you need to disconnect them from the trans before pulling everything out.
Old Feb 17, 2011, 08:53 AM
Evolved Member

Received 16 Likes on 16 Posts
the question is. is it absolutely necessary to even take the trans out? if its rod knock all that needs to be replaced is the engine.

unless the trans you're getting is lower miles than the one you have now or you're beginning to have trans problem i dont see any point in swapping that out
Old Feb 17, 2011, 09:18 AM

Yeah the new trans has 33k miles vs 87k on my old one.
Old Feb 17, 2011, 11:07 AM
Evolved Member

Damn wish u were pulling ur stuff earlier I woulda bought ur old tranny
Old Feb 17, 2011, 12:36 PM
EvoM Administrator

Originally Posted by Raikiri
the question is. is it absolutely necessary to even take the trans out? if its rod knock all that needs to be replaced is the engine.