Notices

Brake Flush

Search this Thread

Old Feb 17, 2007, 09:50 PM
Evolved Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Brake Flush

Since I will be soon updating my brake pads, I thought it would be a good idea to flush the brake fluid and replace it with Motul or some ATE Superblue.
Does anyone know how much brake fluid I will need to buy to do this? I have never done a full system flush before, only small bleeds.
Old Feb 17, 2007, 10:40 PM
Evolving Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
you won't need anymore than a bottles worth of fluid i just used standered dot 4 ,just don't let the master cylinder run dry i beleive i filled it 3-4 times. you shouldn't have any problems.i started at the front (had four tubes pushed on the bleading valve then let drip into bottles ) then worked my way back. i would do this ever year or more if your racing around cones or cars.
Old Feb 18, 2007, 07:51 AM
Evolved Member

So just one 1 liter bottle will be enough? Thanks!
Old Feb 18, 2007, 08:53 AM
EvoM Administrator

Received 11 Likes on 7 Posts
Originally Posted by ikeing
you won't need anymore than a bottles worth of fluid i just used standered dot 4 ,just don't let the master cylinder run dry i beleive i filled it 3-4 times. you shouldn't have any problems.i started at the front (had four tubes pushed on the bleading valve then let drip into bottles ) then worked my way back. i would do this ever year or more if your racing around cones or cars.
From what I've read, when bleeding brakes you should always start the furthest from the master cylinder then work towards it. So, RR, LR, RF, then LF. It probably won't be a bad idea to get two bottles, as well. You don't want to get halfway through it and realize you don't have enough. Don't forget to bleed the clutch at the same time, too, since it pulls fluid from the brake resevoir. I'll be flushing my brakes/clutch next month, as well, probably with motul.

Last edited by otter; Feb 18, 2007 at 09:08 AM.
Old Feb 18, 2007, 10:16 AM