Notices
09+ Lancer Ralliart General Discuss any generalized technical factory turbocharged Ralliart related topics that may not fit into the other forums.

higher wattage on headlight and fog light bulbs

Search this Thread

Old Jun 23, 2009, 12:55 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
higher wattage on headlight and fog light bulbs

is it ok if i use a higher wattage on headlight and fog light bulbs?
Old Jun 23, 2009, 01:12 PM
Evolved Member

i'm by no means an expert, but that is almost never good. Either they will overheat the housing or something else. Circuits are designed with certain elements and usually have very little in terms of leeway.
Old Jun 23, 2009, 01:17 PM
Evolved Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
increasing the wattage on halogen bulbs means that it'll emit more light and heat. the heat can damage the headlight housing and the extra voltage necessary to power the bulb might cause you to blow a fuse or melt a wire (i've seen this happen). if you run HIDs, they have more lumens (light/brightness) while running cooler than halogen bulbs. the downside to this is that you need to but a kit that has a HID ballast. also, the headlight housing you have now is a halogen housins, so your HIDs would basically be shooting all over the place...blinding people. this can cause you to be pulled over, high beamed by others, and what not.
Old Jun 23, 2009, 01:25 PM
Evolved Member

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
I've seen housings melted by higher wattage bulbs. Its not pretty, and its not cheap either.
Old Jun 23, 2009, 01:33 PM
Evolved Member

While everyone is speaking the truth, as long as you don't go crazy you are probably fine. Just keep an eye on things, especially for the fogs as those aren't typically setup as well for higher wattage bulbs.