Notices

UICP worth buying without FMIC?

Search this Thread

Old Nov 23, 2010, 04:28 PM
Evolved Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
UICP worth buying without FMIC?

I'd like to stay around a 1k budget for this first set of mods (preferably under), and I'm leaning towards AMS products. Something about their brand and reputation attracts me.

I am new to modding, so looking for input
Things I will buy 100% or have already:
- AMS BoV: don't like the plastic OEM leaking; relatively cheap
- AMS Boost Pill: seems like a requirement for any modding
- K&N Drop-In: Bought and installed already
Total: ~$200

I really don't like the stock UICP hose, so I'd really like to buy the AMS UICP. They claim on the site that it only fits AMS or Evo X FMIC, but I don't know if that's really true? UR UICP fits just fine with stock IC, what would make the AMS one incompatible?

I know the FMIC upgrade would be huge, but the price difference is from ~600 to ~1300 total (and this is before buying a tune ). So main question is...should I go UICP or full IC set or neither? Are the gains with just UICP too small for the price?
Old Nov 23, 2010, 04:41 PM
Evolved Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
u dont need a tune for a IC and if u shopped around for a used evo ic and UR full set u can buy everything within ur budget. I agree with what u said, just the uicp the gain isnt worth the price. i suggest u save the money and buy UR since its cheaper and does the same job, quality is very good also. The reason the ams UICP wont fit is because of the coupling, u would need reducers if u wanted to fit your stock IC.
Old Nov 23, 2010, 05:25 PM
Evolving Member

Originally Posted by total0wnage