Notices

Need suggestions on vehicle export (Taiwan)

Search this Thread

Old Mar 20, 2009, 08:33 PM
Evolving Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Need suggestions on vehicle export (Taiwan)

Hi guys, well I am an international student here in the US and in about a year I will be moving back to Asia (Taiwan). I would like to take my X with me when I leave and was just wondering if any of you have experience with exporting private vehicles. Any good service providers out there? Also some things to watch out for? Any help will be greatly appriciated! Thank you in advance!
Old Mar 20, 2009, 08:44 PM
Evolving Member

umm.. i just did a little research to bring your car back to taiwan. the cost is probably going to be a lot.. you have to pay around 30 thousand dollars on taxes + emission test+shipping, which is about 2k each time (if you fail you have to do it again and another 2000 dollars). The procedure takes a long time and very costly. Good luck

Last edited by iamblue03; Mar 20, 2009 at 08:48 PM.
Old Mar 20, 2009, 11:23 PM
Evolving Member

Most countries have huge tax for importing your own vehicle. Not sure about Taiwan. I think it might be better to sell your ride & get a new one in Taiwan.

Or you could just stay in the US. Everyone love America right
Old Mar 20, 2009, 11:26 PM

you are definitely going to get raped in taxes bringing it over there.
Old Mar 20, 2009, 11:51 PM
Evolving Member

YES, the tax is HUUUGE. Think about it, imported cars in asia (china singapore, taiwan, indonesia, vietnam etc) got heavy taxes, the final sales price can be 100% more than the price here in united states. good luck on importing it back, in my opinion it's not worth it at all.
Old Mar 21, 2009, 12:08 AM
Evolved Member