Notices

Car Audio Q's.

Search this Thread

Old Mar 7, 2004 | 06:33 AM

Question Car Audio Q's.

Hey everyone. I know I could have searched for another topic like this but parts and components change, so I made a new one.

At the moment Ive got a completely stock standard 2000 GLi 4 Door, and Im now looking to put a sub into it.
Im a student without much moola so I was looking at getting a Pioneer 12" with a 1000 Boss amp, and leaving the rest of the stereo stock.
I know that Boss aren't the best at amps, but they're cheap and pretty damn powerful.

My current line of thinking is this:
Use the 4 inside speakers for treble and mid-way level bass, and use the Sub to really pump up the tunes.

Would this work?
Also, can anyone reccomend a better sub or amp for the same cost as the two items Ive mentioned?

Thanks all.
Old Mar 7, 2004 | 06:10 PM
Evolving Member

Hey
Well im not sure how good are the stock speakers on a 2k lancer but the ones in 93 one were shocking. So i got some Pioneers yay! 6" in the front doors and 6x9's in the back shelf.
Got myself a nice head unit also Pioneer 45watt x4 +mp3 one, and does it go well. No amp or anything and its pretty loud.

I was also thinking of getting a sub for that real thump in the back, so i got my mind on a 10", 10 is nice and punchy where as the 12's and over are a deep bass. So u need a good quality speaker+amp to give u a really nice defined low bass, and not just some muddled up distorted "oomping"
So definately stick with pioneers they are great, as for the Boss amp not sure, maybe save up some money and get youself something decent (Alpine, or Pioneer) and it bound to put a smile on your face!
This is me at the moment
Old Mar 7, 2004 | 07:40 PM

Mine came stock with an Alpine head unit and I *think* the speakers are as well.
The current speakers are great, I was thinking about just leaving the stereo stock altogether, becuase it pumps out the sound so much!