Notices
Drag Racing Find out the best way to launch and see what kind of times other people are posting. No posting of street racing related stories!

Drag set up questions

Search this Thread

Old Sep 19, 2007, 10:56 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Drag set up questions

Ok ive done some searching and im looking for the best DD with track(drag) in mind suspension set up? Basicly its a daily driver that will see the track 2-3 times a month....im fairly new to the AWD world and i have come to understand that tires really dont mean **** and you can cut 1.8's or lower with just about anything.....but how about motor mounts or engine dampeners....bushing kits....DR's (thinking more of safety minded for the driveline to break less ****).....

Or do you guys drive your 8's and 9's to the track as is, pay, and launch???
Old Sep 20, 2007, 01:16 AM
Evolved Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
I'm still on completely stock suspension and stock sized tires. I have a Poweflex front motor mount but the rest are stock. I also have an ACT clutch.

With that being said I have cut plenty of 1.6 60fts with a ton of 1.7s.
Old Sep 20, 2007, 08:46 AM
Evolved Member

I'm sure a lot of this depend on how much HP you are making and leaving with off the line.

My car before the motor went 474 hp went 1.7 60ft and ran 10.85 @ 125 on basically stock susp except for Tein springs on Advans.

With the new motor in i'm going to see how much the stock susp can handle.

My general fear is too much weight transfer to the back causing too much wheel hop up front and then ............breakage

I'd like to run 4 DR's w/ the susp as is and see what that does.

Then i'll step up to some coilovers w/ adjustable shocks and a fairly stiff spring rate if need be.

Last edited by PATRICK B.; Sep 20, 2007 at 08:48 AM.
Old Sep 20, 2007, 12:58 PM