Notices
Driving Techniques Discuss things like how to launch your car, or turn in points, correct steering position, etc.

Question about Heel-Toe....

Search this Thread

Old Jun 9, 2005, 01:02 PM
Evolving Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question about Heel-Toe....

So, I'm fairly new to the manual transmission (doing a LOT of practicing before I get my evo later this month), and I want to start doing heel-toe downshifting. Is the goal to hit the gas enough to get the tach up 1k-ish rpms so as to get the next lower gear in at the right rpms? or just hitting the gas so the rpms are higher, and letting the synchro do the work of matching?

Thanks in advance!
Old Jun 9, 2005, 01:05 PM
Evolving Member

Heel and Toe is to match the revs for when you shift down for cars that don't have syncros. But since the new cars out there have syncros etc. You don't really need to Heel and Toe.

For me, I just blip the throttle to rev up the rpm for downshifting.

do a search, it's been discussed before
Old Jun 9, 2005, 01:09 PM
Evolving Member

Thanks! You answered my question just fine. I did look at the other discussions, but they didn't seem to adress this issue specifically....thanks!
Old Jun 9, 2005, 01:09 PM
Evolving Member

heel-toe also works for track use in corners when you want to break, and keep power up.
Old Jun 13, 2005, 12:53 PM
Evolving Member

Originally Posted by racerhead2
Heel and Toe is to match the revs for when you shift down for cars that don't have syncros. But since the new cars out there have syncros etc. You don't really need to Heel and Toe.