Notices
Driving Techniques Discuss things like how to launch your car, or turn in points, correct steering position, etc.

shifting question

Search this Thread

Old Nov 29, 2003, 03:59 PM
Evolving Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
shifting question

alright 2 shifting questions. (im new to it, only been driving stick 2 months)

first off i heard its possible to shift without using the clutch? is this true? how is it done? and has any1 here experimented with it? i dont plan on doing it im just asking for curiosity.

next question is about downshifting.. How exactly do you downshift? I do it but im sure you guys are more advanced know more ect.. what i usually do is if im turning or slowing down at a sign or what not ill throw the car into neutral then guess my gear as im moving which works pretty well... When do you downshift usually? Does doing what I do effect the car in anyway?

thx a lot to all who respond.
Old Nov 29, 2003, 04:06 PM
Evolving Member

Down shifting is lots of fun when you know how to do it well. When approching a turn you put clutch in put car from 3rd to 2nd give the engine a rev to match RPMs with the clutch and then release the cltch.

To answer your first question it is possible to shift with out eh clutch on up-shifts. This requires your car to be at high RPM when you are doing this. It is commonly called power shifting. I have never done it but have read about it when motor trend was using a corvett to do it in.
Old Nov 29, 2003, 04:11 PM
Evolving Member

i dont get it, why would i rev the engine before releasing the clutch...that doesnt seem to make sense for me and how high would i rev? i drive a stock evo 8.. and is this the same for all gears? also whys it fun : D
Old Nov 29, 2003, 04:35 PM