Notices
Driving Techniques Discuss things like how to launch your car, or turn in points, correct steering position, etc.

Help me out (define these terms)

Search this Thread

Old May 22, 2004, 08:39 AM
Evolving Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Help me out (define these terms)

This car is my first manual transmission and I never really considered myself a perfect driver. When I drive from a stop I ease off the clutch, slowly move forward then give it gas. I'm not a noob here, but I am when it comes to a manual, could you please help me out and define some terms for me so I know I'm not driving incorrectly, thanks!

What is heel toe shifting?

What is slipping a clutch and how do I know if i'm doing it?

What is dumping the clutch?

What is dropping the clutch?

What is burning the clutch?

And what is bogging?

Thanks guys, I think this thread might help alot of people
Old May 23, 2004, 04:26 AM
Evolving Member

bueller?
Old May 23, 2004, 05:51 AM
Evolved Member

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
bump
Old May 23, 2004, 07:06 AM
Evolved Member

Received 24 Likes on 20 Posts
Heel toe shifting is when you are downshifting and braking at the same time. You use your foot that is on the brake (without removing it from the brake) to blip the gas to match engine revs for the next lower gear you will be shifting into. So you do not upset the car when you let the clutch out.

Slipping the clutch happens when you give to much gas without the clutch released. You will smell the clutch burning if you slip it bad enough. Which leads to....

Burning clutch, your clutch material is very similar to brake pad material just like if you get your brakes too hot you can smell them and they start to fade same thing for the clutch.