Notices
ECU Flash

Maf Honeycomb Q Not kidding

Search this Thread

Old Dec 31, 2006, 02:36 PM
Evolving Member

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Maf Honeycomb Q Not kidding

Just making sure everyone still agrees that removing the honeycomb is a bad idea. The topic was touched on alot more often 2 years ago on here and most people said no no no. And I think that obviously became general consensus and has not been talked about much since. I know that it definately isnt hurting in there, and I would much rather leave it in there myself. Long story short Ive been helping a friend of mine tune for a couple months now only to find out today that he hasnt had his honeycomb in for a very long time. The car was originally a mail in dynoflash. When we first hooked the wideband up it was pegged 10.0 (aem) I have allways heard that Dynoflash is still pretty rich so chalked it up to that. I first tuned with safc2 and leaned it out as much as 14% to get a pretty steady 11.3-11.5. Since ditching the safc2 and going straight ecuflash its been a alot more difficult to get a steady afr. He also has some driveability issues (part throttle low load especially), and not the best idle. Also afrs in the 10-11 range during cruising... Not exactly stoich... In the mean time he has been fighting IC piping leaks, faulty Bovs (both leaking and sticking) So I thought alot of the driveability issues would be solved with that. Now he has a Forge bov, Buschur deluxe FMIC, upper and lower piping etc. Everything is nice and tight. But holding steady part throttle at low loads its real jerky. The bigger problem with attributing the honeycomb to the driveability, that is that it did not used to do that with the stock bov and stock upper. The car has ran 12.46 @109 on race gas 25psi before upper ic piping and bov on the safc2 tune. Since ecuflash tuning and upper ic/forge bov it has gone 12.52 on pump gas and 22psi.

Just for reference: