Notices
ECU Flash

Cell AFR verus actual AFR?

Search this Thread

Old Sep 30, 2007, 10:10 AM
Evolved Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Cell AFR verus actual AFR?

Noob here with a basic question. In the fuel maps how close is the cell AFRs to the actual AFRs. Do the numbers in the higher load cells become less accurate to the actual AFR?
Old Sep 30, 2007, 10:38 AM
Evolved Member

Received 65 Likes on 49 Posts
Up to 100% they are pretty much spot on. Within a few tenths anyway, but after that its modified by a few things and you end up going on prior experience as to what numbers will result in what. Throwing bigger injectors in and getting them accurate seems to get them closer (the AFR numbers) to what they actually are but even then they end up as approximations.

JB
Old Sep 30, 2007, 12:15 PM
Evolved Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
As JB wrote.

but to be perfectly clear, the numbers after 100 load are silly, and unless you have changed injectors to a very rare instance those afr numbers are still silly.

Forget those numbers, change them to suit your afr you are wanting, by adjusting them relative to your wideband readings. NOT by changing them to the afr you want.
Old Sep 30, 2007, 12:56 PM
Evolved Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I find that fact rather gaytastic. Life would be so much simpler if that box simply meant what it said.

You'd probably see maybe 2 people offering flashes then.

With proper scaling of the injectors and MAF for any changes made, and disabling lean spool, is it not possible to keep them pretty close to real?

I'm still learning about this too, so don't quote me.
Old Sep 30, 2007, 01:16 PM
Evolved Member

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
^ Sure. But.... lean spool kicks ****!

I dont like messing with the MAF readings. I like to see the freq I'm getting and calculate AIRFLOW from those readings.