Notices
ECU Flash

Entire fuel tables path

Search this Thread

Old Mar 15, 2008, 05:24 PM
Evolved Member

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Entire fuel tables path

I've been trying to get down the exact path of the fuel map. I started learning how most stand-alone's calculate their fuel settings and it really makes sense that the stock ECU follows a very similar path. Usually with a stand-alone, the fuel map is viewable 3 ways; RAW, Injector Pulse Width, and Injector Duty Cycle. We have a handy little AFR formula to make the table somewhat seem like the correct AFR values but its nothing more than a formula for convenience. Here is a link to the AEM Engine Management Software, it will really help you see what a full layout should look like.

Someone can correct me if I'm wrong but "usually" the fuel map is nothing more than the IPW value for that cell. This is the base setting before ANY corrections have been implemented (i.e; Air Temp Compensation, Coolant Temp Compensation, Barometric Pressure Compensation,Boost Compensation, etc...). If you are viewing the RAW table, its in 8bit decimal form from 0-255. The IPW and IDC tables are just a formulated version of the RAW table for easier viewing/editing.
There are two types of variables used which I don't think we have looked for but are definitely used.

The first is the "MicroSec/bit" value which tells you how much the IPW time increases (in microseconds) for every decimal value you increment. So if you set the MicroSec/bit value to 100, for every decimal value you increment, the IPW changes by 0.1ms (1000 microseconds = 1 millisecond). You would want to set this value so the maximum IPW adjustment was slightly higher than the largest IPW value required on your current fuel map, to have the greatest resolution possible.