Notices
Evo Electrical / Audio / Security Discuss electrical systems, audio system upgrades, or alarm configurations.

a little help from remote start installers

Search this Thread

Old Sep 20, 2010, 04:58 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
a little help from remote start installers

Im wondering what do you guys perfer when installing a remote start system into customer cars. Soldering all your connections or using properly sized wire T-taps? I somehow for volunteered to start installing aftermarket remote starts into customer cars at my dealership and they want me to solder all the connections. For me, id just t tap all my connections since it is way easier to tap into a wire behind the dash then to try n reach my soldering iron and solder to the connecting wires. Plus time is money

Any insight will be greatly appreciated guys

thanks
Old Sep 20, 2010, 05:25 PM

Hey man, I'm an MECP installer. PERSONALLY, I'm against T-Taps.lol Though, scotch-locks are worse(you didn't mention this, just throwing it out there). Now, I don't solder behind a dash...only because I'm horrible at soldering. Also, the other installers I've worked with through the years don't solder(unless they have to for specific vehicles). My group usually uses strippers to strip the wires(factory wiring) back, then using a pick tool to seperate a hole in the copper strands, tie in remote start wiring, secure with electrical tape and then ziptie to prevent strain on the connection.
You'll probably get mixed reviews on our method, but the three of us here have yet to have a car come back with a wiring problem(Knocking on wood )

Just keep this in mind: install as if someone will see. It's something I was told, and I told our newest guy. Just because it functions, doesnt mean it's all good. You can google remote-start install pics....after you see some bird's nests, you'll understand.

Sorry for the book.
Old Sep 22, 2010, 11:59 AM