Notices
Evo Engine / Turbo / Drivetrain Everything from engine management to the best clutch and flywheel.

What's the harm in taking off the line to the waste gate

Search this Thread

Old Oct 18, 2004, 01:37 PM
Evolved Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
What's the harm in taking off the line to the waste gate

Well I did the other day , It was on a "safe tune" and running 100+ octane. I got ALOT of boost , more than most ppl say the 16g can do . So how "bad" is it for the turbo to run w/out a bc ? Iam only thinking of doing this for the 1/4 track ,just didnt know if anyone had done this befor?

Thanks.
Old Oct 18, 2004, 01:43 PM
Evolved Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
If your question is how bad is it to run without a boost controller i would have to go with: bad, border line dumb....(Im no expert in neway) but from my understanding the boost controller stops u from over boosting - over boosting means over-reved turbo...over reved turbo= overpriced paper weight
Old Oct 18, 2004, 01:47 PM
Evolved Member

"over-reved turbo" never herd of that befor , but thats why iam asking .
Old Oct 18, 2004, 01:49 PM
Evolving Member

It all depends...

It all depends on how high the boost goes, it would just be like removing the wastegate and allowing all exhaust gas to go to the turbo. Although, their might be a safeguard for when something like that happens so as to not boost at all. Who knows, check it out
Old Oct 18, 2004, 01:52 PM
Evolving Member

Too much boost is not good because the turbo becomes inefficient. You could overheat the turbo, the intake temperatures will be greater causing knock, etc.
Old Oct 18, 2004, 01:53 PM

If i read your post correct you must be insane. What will happen is that boost will keep going till either the turbo fails or your engine but one will happen.

if you mash the gas all the way through the gears something will blow. It is plain insane to run with out some sort of control.
Old Oct 18, 2004, 01:54 PM
Evolving Member