Notices
Evo Engine / Turbo / Drivetrain Everything from engine management to the best clutch and flywheel.

Misfiring system?

Search this Thread

Old Feb 24, 2003, 11:45 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Misfiring system?

hello i'm new here, i'm new to the LanEvo and i was wondering can u guys tell me wut is a misfiring system? and what does it do?
Old Feb 25, 2003, 12:23 AM
Evolving Member

Did you hear that off of Initial D? That was like the only place i've heard of that. I think they were refering to an antilag system for turbos.
Old Feb 25, 2003, 12:24 AM

yeah i heard it off initial D and I was interested in it... Airicly do u own an evo? i'm from orange County too.
Old Feb 25, 2003, 12:27 AM

a misfiring system is basically a solution to turbo lag. when a driver (with turbo) lifts his foot off the gas to make a turn, there is a sudden drop of power, obviously, and so there is a loss of exhaust gases which lowers the pressure needed to drive the turbine. when the turbine loses this power, it slows down and needs time to spin up again, which creates the lag. the way a misfiring system works is, when this happens, it senses it immediately and injects fuel directly into the exhaust system itself. The fuel is detonated in the exhaust manifold, creating that pop you hear and the force of this mini-explosion is enough to maintain boost pressure needed to keep the turbo up to speed even when the car is slowing down, thus virtually eliminating any lag and maximizing power coming out of a turn. However, these are illegal on street cars, and eventually ruins the turbo and exhaust system. Hope this helps

Last edited by Evolve; Feb 25, 2003 at 12:34 AM.
Old Feb 25, 2003, 12:28 AM
Evolving Member

haha i wish i had an Evo. Yeah I'm from Orange County. Fountain Valley to be exact.
Old Feb 25, 2003, 12:29 AM

wow thanks for the info on the misfiring system yeah that does help alot.... hehe airicly i live close to u man Westminster lolz how old are u? i'm 17