Notices
Evo Engine / Turbo / Drivetrain Everything from engine management to the best clutch and flywheel.

Did only 350 AWHP ruin my triple carbon clutch?

Search this Thread

Old Jul 16, 2005, 12:20 PM
Evolved Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Unhappy Did only 350 AWHP ruin my triple carbon clutch?

Before we jump on the "thats normal" bandwagon, let me explain.
my mods are listed below, my stock clutch went bye-bye after 6K miles. ( I was a rookie AWD driver!), the 2nd clutch was the Exedy twin metallic, which lasted great for 25K miles! my clutch now is the "bees-knees" (Andrews word) Exedy triple carbon with close to 10 K miles on it.

I have NOT drag-raced it, only did an auto-X one time! NEVER "lit" the tires up in a burnout, and besides the occasional light to light spirited stuff, THAT'S IT!!!!

3 weeks ago the clutch DID seem to "slip" under load, and under boost around 45-4800 RPM. (This event happened 300 miles ago) it would jump the tach up about 500 RPM and "collect itself" and keep going up the RPM band. We all know this as the early stages of a clutch getting ready to go!

I took my car to Dyno4mance 2 weeks ago for a tune. upon doing the pump-gas map, around pull # 25, the clutch slipped, and Andrew immediatley let off the gas and looked totally confused as to what just happened. I told him it did it once before, and I believe its the clutch slipping! He said the Exedy triple is the "bees-knees" when it comes to clutches, and didnt see how it could be slipping.

Here is whats wierd:

the clutch would "slip" every 4th or 5th pull!!! not BEFORE or after the 4th or 5th pull! since the dyno is the Dyno4mance, you can see in real time the HP/Boost graph etc, and THE ONLY TIME THIS HAPPENED WAS at the same spot on the graph every time, where the lines bi-sect (HP and torque?) If Andrew comes on this site, he can elaborate when this happens.