Notices
Evo Engine / Turbo / Drivetrain Everything from engine management to the best clutch and flywheel.

My solution for Potential boom boom

Search this Thread

Old Mar 7, 2006, 08:46 AM
Evolving Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
My solution for Potential boom boom

First i would like to start by say that any help, opinions, or comments are welcom and apriciated. Also I am no mechanic, nor did i go to school for engineering, this is just what i think i need to do to prevent my engine from blowing.

I have a 2003 Evo VIII with 46,000 miles on her.

Mods: DC catless down pipe
HKS carbon ti
HKS rs suction intake
Walbro fuel pump
JDM MR diverter valve
Logic performance intercooler piping (lower, and upper)
Hyper flow intercooler
Halman manual boost controler set to 21 psi on 93 oct
Defi boost guage
Dyno Flash mail in flash, but drove to pruven to get it done by al

While my car was in stock form, i took it to the drag strip and ran it. My fastes time was a 14.12, I know thats pretty slow. lol Then at aprox. 31,000 miles I started modding it, and got it flashed fight away. Also just so there is no mis- understanding, Al did a great job, was very helpful, professional, and acceptive to my many questions, and i felt a major improvment comapared to stock. I would definatley recomend him to anybody thinking of getting flashed. At aprox. 32,000 mile i cahnged my clutch to an exedy twin. I still take to the track and my fastes time now is a 12.78, ( i know its preety slow) lol. But anyway, i cant complain about anything becuase i have never had any bad issues with the car, i love it and hope to have her forever. I know some people have had many problems, but that isnt so in my case.

Now that we got some backround info out the way I'll go into my issue. I have read about a few evos blowing up there engines. Now like i said before i am no mechanic but from what i read it seems that the problem for the most part was the rod bearing, and bolts possibly stretching.