Notices
Evo Engine / Turbo / Drivetrain Everything from engine management to the best clutch and flywheel.

Weird clutch noise

Search this Thread

Old Feb 27, 2007, 10:48 AM
Evolving Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Weird clutch noise

I will make this short and to the point.

I had an Exedy twin disc cluth installed about 9 months ago. I did experience a little chattering noise which i heard was normal...

Well about 2 to 3 weeks ago this new noise started. It sounds like a grinding noise. It only happens when i am just starting out moving in 1st gear or in reverse.... BUT it happens when i just start to release the clutch (right when the clutch starts to grip). Once the clutch is fully released it doesnt make the noise anymore. AND it only does it once in a while maybe once a day. It could happen when i first drive the car for the day or when i have dove it a few times in a day. I want to say it is a grinding noise because there isnt any real way to discribe it other than that.

I know it is hard to diagnois without hearing it but was wondering if anyone else has this problem and has had it looked at.
Old Feb 27, 2007, 03:00 PM
Evolved Member

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Is it like a humming noise when you change gears? I have an exedy twin plate and get the same thing. Learn to rev match, and it will go away. I believe this is normal for the twin plate.
Old Feb 27, 2007, 03:58 PM
Evolving Member

No it isnt when i change gears it is when i am in first or reverse and not moving. Once i start to release the clutch... right at the moment when the clutch starts to grip it makes a howling/ grinding noise.
Old Feb 27, 2007, 04:01 PM
Evolving Member

its possible that its slipping but that depends on the way you drive.
Old Feb 27, 2007, 04:48 PM
Evolving Member