Notices
Evo Engine / Turbo / Drivetrain Everything from engine management to the best clutch and flywheel.

6 Puck vs Twin disk Carbon. Lockout

Search this Thread

Old Mar 8, 2007, 09:47 PM
Evolved Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
6 Puck vs Twin disk Carbon. Lockout

I was wondering if ya guys could help me understand how my 6puck South Bend Feramic clutch locks me out at 9500rpm when i shift fast and the Tilton twin disk i have coming wont lock me out? My 6 puck still holds my power level but when im slamming gears in at that rpm it will lock me out of 4th and 2nd gear Now ive been told that multi disk clutches allow you to shift fast with no out lock out.
Old Mar 8, 2007, 09:57 PM
Evolved Member

im not an expert by any means with clutches but I would imagine the disk somehow disengages faster which allows you to shift faster.
Old Mar 8, 2007, 09:58 PM
Evolved Member

Originally Posted by Jim_Patterson
im not an expert by any means with clutches but I would imagine the disk somehow disengages faster which allows you to shift faster.
Yeah that would make sense. I need to go wake up Ted B i bet he has a very technical answer
Old Mar 8, 2007, 10:10 PM
Evolved Member

Received 70 Likes on 52 Posts
FWIW-

I have been told that its because the heat generated at launch and slip "warps" the flywheel and clutch disk enough it doesnt fully disengage. A twin or triple have more disks taking the same load and even though the heat generated might be as high its being spread out over a greater amount of heat sink.
Old Mar 8, 2007, 10:11 PM
Evolved Member

Paul you should make up some ricer out of this world questions to askLucas, just to see his response.
Old Mar 8, 2007, 10:21 PM
Evolved Member

I dont have the answer but 9500Rpm damn!!!!!!!!!
Old Mar 8, 2007, 10:58 PM
Evolved Member

Received 10 Likes on 4 Posts
I think Paul just wants some mental support about spending so much on a clutch

All facts stated are good ones.

Hear are a few more.