Notices
Evo Engine / Turbo / Drivetrain Everything from engine management to the best clutch and flywheel.

4G63 2.3 versus 4G64 Long-Rod 2.4

Search this Thread

Old Apr 6, 2007 | 02:31 PM
Evolved Member

4G63 2.3 versus 4G64 Long-Rod 2.4

I've gone ahead and ordered the 2.4... but wanted to hear peoples opinions on these two engine specs. I'm no expert and have to admint when I was doing a lot of searching a few weeks ago I did not understand all of what I read.

But from my understanding, and what I concluded, was that there was not any benefit in the 2.3 over the 2.4. However, the 2.4 has an advantage of the longer rod length which creates a less acute angle in relation to the crankshaft journal. This reduces piston side-loading issues associated with the shorter rods in the 2.3 spec.

Otherwise they seem very similar to me. Anyway I'm preparing to be enlightened here with more info so hit me up!
Old Apr 6, 2007 | 02:45 PM
Former Sponsor

for the most part, with off-the-shelf parts, without breaking the bank, most 2.3's & 2.4's are built using the same length rod, ~150mm in length / 5.90".

the piston pin height is different when using a 100mm stroke in either a 4g63 or
4g64 block.

yeah, you can source out longer rods, utlizing a shorteer pin height in the piston to increase your rod ratio a bit, but it's going to cost quite a bit more.

a lot people favor the 2.3, cause it uses your current block, it has piston squirters & you dont ave to worry about making a waterpump plate to use a evo pump on a 4g64 block, just to name a few things.

i am in favor of a 4g64 because the bore size is already larger = more valve area, less unshrouding of the valves....

i wish someone who has the surplus of damaged blocks, cut 1 up & measure the bore thickness of a evo engine to find out the wall thickness vs using a sonic measuring device. Sonic measuring is very accurate, but i would feel better inspecting the bore pieces by hand.
Old Apr 7, 2007 | 11:04 AM
Evolved Member