Notices
Evo Engine / Turbo / Drivetrain Everything from engine management to the best clutch and flywheel.

MR Transmission Problems HELP!!

Search this Thread

Old Sep 30, 2007, 12:45 PM
Evolved Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
MR Transmission Problems HELP!!

Ok, I have spent the past couple of weeks and more recently the past 3 days (Up till 3am last night) looking for information to help me out, I seem to be finding mixed information (Good and bad) and some threads with kind of similar but not 100% identical problems. So since I can't find anyting just like my situation hopefully I can post it and gain some more insight as to what is going on with my car.... Any help is greatly appreciated!

I used to be a tech for Acura and Honda so being boosted and Mitsubishi is totally different to me but I do know a decent amount about cars but the EVIL MR has proved to be a totally different ANIMAL!!!!

I bought my 06 MR from a kid he didnt know how to drive the car (stick that is) from the day he bought it. Inevitably he toasted the clutch within 3k miles. Clutch got replaced but he beat the living hell out of the car. Lauches, sprints from light to light (Which makes absolutely no sense in Boca Raton, FL,.... brakes were done in 8k miles!! and Advans were toast as well). I personally have riden with him a number of times before I bought the car and never heard him grind gears but he may have before I owned the car... Either way I know he drove it rougher than i do by FAR!

Anyways I took it over, I bought the car with about 8k on the Odom. He had a substantial amount of work done to it but never got it tuned, so I eventually got it tuned from TTP etc (see list of parts). Eventually I had to get a new clutch due to slipage within about 10-11k because of new found power. I decided on the Exedy Twin HD set up and got it put in about 4k miles ago and once I had it in it was perfect.