Notices
Evo Engine / Turbo / Drivetrain Everything from engine management to the best clutch and flywheel.

What's the best Turbo Timer

Search this Thread

Old Jul 17, 2003, 09:36 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
What's the best Turbo Timer

I'm a proud new EVO 8 owner. I'd like to get a turbo timer asap. I've been looking at the HKS Type 1 timer...it seems to have a lot of cool features in addition to the timer itself. The Blitz DDT DCII seems like a good one too...and I know there are many others. I'm new at this, and I would love to get some opinions. I'd like to know ease of installation, quality of the product, and reliability.
Thanks everyone, and I'm happy to be a new member...
Old Jul 18, 2003, 06:12 AM
Admin Emeritus

Received 100 Likes on 69 Posts
Hi,

The best turbo timer is YOU. The use of synthetic oil, plus a little conservative driving for the last mile home works best. Additionally, if you pull off the highway after an hour run or so, then let the car cool down a couple of minutes. That is it and the turbo will last a very long time. The philosophy that a turbo timer is required is an urban legend carried over from early turbo designs and petroleum based oils.

Take the money you saved on a TT and put it towards a catback exhaust.

Speedlimit....
Old Jul 19, 2003, 12:10 AM

The first thing I bought for my Evo was the HKS Type 1 Turbo Timer. The install was very easy with the HKS harness and all the little extra features are a nice touch. The thing I like the most is the shift light. I'm sure you won't be dissapointed with it.
Old Jul 19, 2003, 12:30 AM
Evolved Member

i have the blitz dc2 and its awesome...its really small and can be mounted in more places than other turbo timers and best of all, it has a built in digital boost gauge
Old Jul 19, 2003, 11:41 AM
In Timeout

Originally posted by Speedlimit
Hi,