Notices
Evo Engine / Turbo / Drivetrain Everything from engine management to the best clutch and flywheel.

a few questions about evo mods.

Search this Thread

Old Aug 30, 2008, 07:28 PM
Evolving Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
a few questions about evo mods.

first, yes i am new to the evo8 but not to motor building/tuning/fabrication,etc.

anyway, i just wondered why you guys dislike the aftermarket "cone filter" on stock evo's?

also, what spark plugs do you reccomend running on an evo that is mostly stock(just boost controller)?

is the "re-flash" idea good if i still want to retain my warranty and is it traceable if flashed back to stock?

thanks, I love this car!
Old Aug 31, 2008, 08:04 AM
Evolving Member

Hello?........
Old Aug 31, 2008, 08:11 AM
Evolved Member

Open element filters are okay, but a lot of guys think the benefit of the larger airlfow capacity is negated by the fact that it's not taking in cold air like the stock intake is designed to do. Intakes in general are harder to tune for because they can distrupt the MAF sensor. Personally, I've never had a problem with an aftermarket intake.

Spark plugs - you can either use the stock ones, NGK iridiums, or NGK BPR7ES's. The latter is the cheapest route, but you must change them every 5,000 miles or so.

As far as reflashing goes, I dont know for a fact if the dealership can detect whether or not the ECU has been tampered with, but as long as you flash it back to stock before visiting them, you'd be covered. I wouldn't worry about that. I've never heard of anyone having an issue with warranty work over an ECU flash.
Old Aug 31, 2008, 08:24 AM
Evolved Member

I built my own heat sheild and 4" intake duct to my cone filter. After a hard 2 hour drive on a hot day, the filter is still cool to the touch. At most it may be slightly warm. Sometimes, it's actually cold. But the point is, it's the best of both worlds. More airflow, as well as cool airflow
Old Aug 31, 2008, 08:41 AM
Evolving Member