Notices
Evo Engine / Turbo / Drivetrain Everything from engine management to the best clutch and flywheel.

Way OVER redline!

Search this Thread

Old Sep 10, 2003, 09:22 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Way OVER redline!

I was driving in 4rth gear tonight and at the end of my rpm band i was switching to 5th, Some how, I slipped it into 3rd. It downshifted Hard as **** for less than a second. But i am worried. It sounds normal, runs normal, and nothing is noticeable as far as driving. But i cant sit here and think that nothing has went wrong with the engine.
I have an SAFC and i was running -5% on 7000. I wasn't giving it any gas by the time i shifted into 3rd and the SAFC recorded my peak RPM at 9374 rpm.

and Kar was at 1604 Hz. I am just worried, because i have never done this before. And i was way over redline. I just cant imagine the engine still being ok. Can anyone put a light on this subject, and tell me what kind of damages likely occured.
Thanks,
Marcus
Old Sep 10, 2003, 09:25 PM
Evolved Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
If you still driving the car, this is a good indication that you didn't mess up anything.

A mistake will not cause harm. Lot's of mistake will be unknown.

BTW, you probably set a record for engine rev.
Old Sep 10, 2003, 09:27 PM
Evolved Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
i agree with the above. dont worry about it. i wouldnt try and do it often but you will be fine.
Old Sep 10, 2003, 09:32 PM
EvoM Guru

WOW! usually will bend valves (caused by valve float). Car seems ok? Idle smoothly etc.? For piece of mind do a leak down test on each of the cylinders and maybe change the oil looking for expensive shiny things. If all is ok count your blessings and don't do it again! I doubt it would survive that too many times...
Old Sep 10, 2003, 09:33 PM
Evolved Member