Notices
Evo Engine / Turbo / Drivetrain Everything from engine management to the best clutch and flywheel.

Exedy twin disc hd or Quartermaster twin disc?

Search this Thread

Old Apr 3, 2009, 01:24 AM
Evolved Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Exedy twin disc hd or Quartermaster twin disc?

Hey guys,
I'm about to order my new clutch but I am contemplating between the Exedy twin disc hd or the Quartermaster twin disc..
Now I pretty much only do drag. I only plan on making right around ~500whp.. So what would you suggest? This is not my dd by the way. Thanks for any input!
Old Apr 3, 2009, 03:59 AM
Evolved Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
quartermaster. its simply amazing, i run it in my car and i have no complaints. its a bit noisy but its not that bad.

making 500whp will eat away at the exedy twin fairly steadily.
Old Apr 3, 2009, 04:05 AM
Evolved Member

I have a quartermaster, by far an amazing clutch grabs like a ****, definately takes some skills to this clutch if you don't mind a few stalls.. or more.. lol
Old Apr 3, 2009, 04:54 AM
Evolved Member

I'm just worried because I heard it lasts a maximum of 15k miles before it needs a re-build.. Is this true?
Old Apr 3, 2009, 05:32 AM
Evolved Member

I just installed a new exedy twin and so far I am really happy with the way it handles. I am still in the break in process so I cant say how it feels when you launch it. I have heard many good things about both clutches.

For the two other guys with quartemasters, have you ever owned an exedy or are you giving your opinion on hear say?
Old Apr 3, 2009, 06:07 AM
Evolving Member

both clutches are amazing! I have never ran a quart but I hear mostly great things about them. As far as rebuilding them every 15k that should be a false statement as the quart is made out of the same materials the exedy td is and I have ran that for over 30k and never had any issues so im sure the quart is built to last as well.
Old Apr 3, 2009, 06:17 AM
Evolved Member