Notices
Evo Engine / Turbo / Drivetrain Everything from engine management to the best clutch and flywheel.

bov fluttering?

Search this Thread

Old Apr 13, 2009, 03:45 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
bov fluttering?

hi i tried searching about this but couldnt really find a thread that hit the nail on the head. i am a noob at this so forgive my question about this if it seems dumb. i have heard bov's fluttering on cars and read from other threads on here that the fluttering is bad. Why is it bad for evos when other cars do it? And would it be possible to do it with our cars and if so what bov would do this? Also i have heard that the fluttering is the wastegate on turbo setups that have aftermarket turbos with external wastegates. any and all information and tech would be greatly appreciated. thanks for looking everyone.
Old Apr 13, 2009, 03:49 PM
Evolved Member

if its excisive flutter to the point that its compressor surge it bad....because the air stalls the compressor.....
Old Apr 13, 2009, 03:51 PM
Evolved Member

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
A fluttering BOV usually means the adjustment screw on the diaphram is on too tight and the valve is not opening properly under boost. Even with a properly setup valve, a BOV might still flutter under part throttle, light load and low boost situations. Still, it can be fixed depending on how the ports are used.

Fluttering on a wastegate is different. An open dump might have a lot fluttering or "chugga-chugga" sound under full boost as the wastegate is regulating boost, but that's normal.
Old Apr 13, 2009, 03:56 PM
Evolved Member

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts