Notices
Evo Engine / Turbo / Drivetrain Everything from engine management to the best clutch and flywheel.

how much boost taper is normal?

Search this Thread

Old Jun 16, 2009, 10:01 PM
Evolved Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
how much boost taper is normal?

I am fairly new to the evo scene. I recently installed a boost gauge and been reading on here about where oem boost readings are. I guess mitsu set the factory tune to have the boost taper a bit. Here is my question, I found an open road to test my car, in second gear 90% throttle I will boost to 20psi, then it tapers down to 15. 3rd gear at wot it stays at max 14 psi. Kind of weird but it also seems like its hitting a wall, not as responsive in 3rd as it was 2nd trying to accel from 5500 rpm on up,hmm... but in 3rd and 4th it just stays at 14 psi max. I was under the impression it should taper down to ~17 psi, so its quite a bit off. My car is a 2005 gsr, completely stock except for licp, evo 9 DV, and a perrin crank pulley (came with car when purchased). Also with new oem plugs gapped at .024". When I replaced my dv to the evo 9 metal one, I noticed my dv clamps were kind of loose. I want to go through and check all my clamps again, but I dont think that is the issue. I also am not sure if its my tb shaft seals, partly because I am able to boost to 20 psi, just wont hold past 14 psi. So any ideas that might help, thanks.
Old Jun 17, 2009, 03:14 AM
Evolved Member

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
It's pretty easy to build a boost leak tester. Test it for leaks first.
Old Jun 17, 2009, 04:00 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
thats right where ix turbos taper to. i know you have an 05 but they share the same 10.5 hotside. once you get more bolt-ons you'll be able to hold boost better.
Old Jun 17, 2009, 04:58 AM
Evolved Member

Originally Posted by evoluvinevo