Notices
Evo Engine / Turbo / Drivetrain Everything from engine management to the best clutch and flywheel.

Damaged compressor blades cause knock? (pics)

Search this Thread

Old Feb 25, 2010, 10:23 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Damaged compressor blades cause knock? (pics)

Hey guys,
I'm still new to owning an evo but learning a lot real quick with this troubled car. I'm having trouble with knock (I know I know, same old problem different car).

History: Bought the car used, EVO VIII MR, the boost gauge was broken so I installed a new one. Car holds good vacuum (18-20in Hg) but it was only boosting to 12psi (waste-gate pressure), but still pulled smooth. Got a bad tank of gas around the same time and car started hesitating at WOT on highway, feels the same as when timing is pulled. After a couple of tanks, same thing. Pulled the plugs and replaced them and started to pull smooth (still only 12psi). I took it to a Tuner and he installed a 3port boost control solenoid and put it on the dyno. The car boosts to 23psi easy. Here is where it gets weird. Some pulls were good some had 30 counts of knock sum. Phantom knock problem??? Tuner said he can't help me with it. Doesn't know what the problem could be. He said he has only seen 3 evos with the same problem.
I got home and checked under the car, and the heat shield around the downpipe looks a little bent around the cross bar area. Don't know if that could be causing "knock".
Then I took the intake off and took pics of the compressor blades, there was some damage. See pic. Can vibration due to a not balanced compressor wheel cause this "knock"????
I attempted a 3rd gear pull and succeeded the first time, very smooth, lots of power. Second attempt was not so good 29 counts of knock. See pics.
Also my ignition and fuel maps are bellow.
ANY HELP WOULD BE APPRECIATED