Notices
Evo Engine / Turbo / Drivetrain Everything from engine management to the best clutch and flywheel.

Engine build tips

Search this Thread

Old Jul 28, 2010, 09:15 PM
Evolving Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Engine build tips

I'm looking for some input on an Evo IV engine build. I'm starting my Mirage to evo VI conversion, and was looking an Evo V+ block to start my build, but came across a IV at a price that I couldn't turn down!

I am going to add oil chamfers to the thrust bearings to help prevent thrust wear and will an eye out for crank walk.

Any way, I want good streetability, not looking for crazy horsepower numbers but I want a fun car to drive. It will be street driven 99% of the time, but I'm thinking about trying my hand at some autocross...

My thoughts so far:

Bottom end
Manley Forged crank

Manley H-beams

JE Forged Pistons

Chamfered main bearing

OEM bearings

High volume oil pump

Head

ARP head studs

Mild cam (I need suggestions, as I am pretty new to the evo game!)

Cosworth head gasket

560cc injectors
Turbo
Tommi Makinen turbo

Tommi Makinen intercooler

I haven't decided what exhaust to use, but I was considering the Works Exhale.

So, guys- any input appreciated! Also, I have access to a full machine shop for free, so almost nothing is out of the question

Thanks!

Last edited by KX250Fmotoracer; Jul 28, 2010 at 09:21 PM.
Old Jul 29, 2010, 10:00 AM
Evolving Member

Wow, no one?

So does anyone know aprox what HP a stock evo 8 crank is good for? Is it a waste going to a forged crank?

How about stroker kits? I saw that AMS has a 2.3 kit, full forged?
Old Jul 29, 2010, 10:26 AM
Evolved Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Originally Posted by KX250Fmotoracer
Wow, no one?

So does anyone know aprox what HP a stock evo 8 crank is good for? Is it a waste going to a forged crank?

How about stroker kits? I saw that AMS has a 2.3 kit, full forged?
Seen stock mitsu cranks take 1000whp or more so it should be fine for you.