Notices
Evo Engine / Turbo / Drivetrain Everything from engine management to the best clutch and flywheel.

AEM Tru Boost. Im confused!!

Search this Thread

Old Oct 25, 2010, 09:58 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
AEM Tru Boost. Im confused!!

Okay, well first of all, i read almost every thread that has the words Tru Boost in it..

I just got one and i installed everything works blah blah.. EASY

Now, Dialing it in. DIFFERENT STORY.

Ive read that the SPR number( some say GAE i think? idk maybe mine wasn't updated and still says SPR?) should be at 11.5 to 12..? at normal wastegate pressure? But I also read a thread that AMS tuned someone's evo who had close to my setup and left it at 2.0? Im new to turbos but im not completely unaware of whats going on. i no its different for everyones car, but why such a drastic number off the normal 11psi number?

The duty cycle i understand pretty well, but i cant seem to get it to hold a decent number. im tuned for around 24psi. i just want to get it to that number so i can change the boost and cold weather boost levels and such.

How much should it taper to redline? like if its at 27 right away then drops to 22 by redline, i would assume thats not right, correct? if i can dial in 24 again, how much should it taper down to?

Sorry for such newb questions but im just trying to learn and figure this out.
if theres any details i left out and you need to understand more of what im trying to explain just let me know.

also mods are
04 evo viii, ix turbo, ams turbo back, jmf o2 dump, filter cone, tuned by pete at krazy house.
Old Oct 25, 2010, 10:56 AM
Evolving Member