Notices
Evo Engine / Turbo / Drivetrain Everything from engine management to the best clutch and flywheel.

Possible reasons for fuel pump shut off

Search this Thread

Old Aug 14, 2012, 06:22 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Possible reasons for fuel pump shut off

Hey guys,

I've been working on getting my EVO IX running for a few months now. Basically what appears to happen is when starting the car it gets primed car starts for a few seconds and dies. No fuel pressure is established, it doesnt even sound like the pump is turning on at all. From what I've read in the forums the second fuel pump relay does not get grounded if the car possibly detects a problem thus not sending any power to the fuel pump for its own protection.

I do not throw any SES codes.

I have tried replacing the following parts;

1) MAF sensor
3) Fuel pump
2) IACV
3) ECU (another EVO IX stock one)
4) Areomotive adjustable FPR
5) Fuel pump relay #3 and resistor on the firewalll

What I did last night was run a direct 12V power to the stock fuel pump with a wiring kit and relay. (bypassing all the fuel pump relays that can possible turn it off and control voltage). The car will run however once it warms up to normal idle it goes insanely rich, past 11:1 AFR. During this entire time my fuel pressure gauge on the FPR is at 40-41psi (I know base should be 42.5).

So ultimately I don't think its the fuel system that is the problem but possibly another sensor that is causing the car to not turn on the pump for some other failure?

Does anyone know a list of scenarios that would cause the ECU to not power on the fuel pump?

I've heard possibly the crank position sensor which is going to be my next replacement if I can't come up with anything else. Not having thrown any SES codes is like working in the dark.
Old Aug 20, 2012, 08:51 AM

Nobody? I know I can't be the only one with this issue
Old Aug 20, 2012, 11:20 PM
Evolving Member