Notices
Evo Engine / Turbo / Drivetrain Everything from engine management to the best clutch and flywheel.

2nd gear lockout.. is it synchro?

Search this Thread

Old Oct 7, 2012, 10:43 PM
Evolved Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Exclamation 2nd gear lockout.. is it synchro?

has anyone had or knew someone that had a 2nd gear lockout issue? my trans can't seem to go in no matter if I'm regular cruise driving or WOT shifting or even when car is off.. can't seem to get it in at all.. fluid was changed maybe 2 months ago using redline cocktail. no grinding or pop outs.. YET! All other gears are fine as well... any ideas.. ppl are telling me maybe a bent shift fork, but not sure
Old Oct 8, 2012, 04:50 AM
Evolving Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I'm by no means an expert on Mitsu trannys. I have a lot more experience with Honda's and Ford's manuals. But most of the basics are the same. If its anything like an Si's tranny, first and second should be on the same shaft separate from the other gears(except reverse). They will be controlled by the same shift fork. So if it was bent, you should have noticable trouble getting into first as well. I would lean more towards a possible hub issue, maybe gear or synchro. Would be difficult to tell without taking the trans apart. Have you rechecked the fluid since this has happened, any metal? All of your linkage move freely if you disconnect from the trans? Just a few things I would check, but to me it sounds like it might be internal. Good luck man.
Old Oct 8, 2012, 10:43 AM
Evolved Member

Originally Posted by legacydestroyer