Notices
Evo Engine / Turbo / Drivetrain Everything from engine management to the best clutch and flywheel.

Help evo 9 engine problems!!!!!

Search this Thread

Old Feb 1, 2014 | 02:52 PM

Help evo 9 engine problems!!!!!

Recently my engine started sputtering! Took it to the shop they said number four cylinder is dead! 0 compression! Today I the valve cover off found that the cams are rusted pretty bad! Also found a significant amount of oil in the number 2 stark plug well. I know that the seal is out! Real question is that if the car is out of time would it cause a misfire in one of the cylinders? And would that read 0compression in one of the cylinders any advice would be awesome I am new to too evos.
Old Feb 3, 2014 | 08:48 AM
Evolved Member

Bump, I would also like to know. I wish their is a crash course for Evo 8/9 specific on compression and diagnosing things to look for in case of problems like this occurs.
Old Feb 3, 2014 | 10:05 AM
Evolved Member

Belt timing would affect all cylinders the same. I doubt that the cams are rusty - maybe covered with sludge if the oil hasn't been changed regularly. The rocker area is very oily.

Get a compression gauge and confirm what that shop is telling you or have it tested again somewhere else. If still true then proceed to a leakdown test in an effort to tell whether the head or block is bad.

Last edited by barneyb; Feb 3, 2014 at 10:10 AM.
Old Feb 3, 2014 | 07:26 PM

Originally Posted by barneyb
Belt timing would affect all cylinders the same. I doubt that the cams are rusty - maybe covered with sludge if the oil hasn't been changed regularly. The rocker area is very oily.

Get a compression gauge and confirm what that shop is telling you or have it tested again somewhere else. If still true then proceed to a leakdown test in an effort to tell whether the head or block is bad.