Notices
Evo Engine / Turbo / Drivetrain Everything from engine management to the best clutch and flywheel.

New to Evo 8 bought with milky oil

Search this Thread

Old Mar 2, 2015, 12:00 PM
Evolving Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
New to Evo 8 bought with milky oil

So I am very new to Evo's, I bought a Evo 8 from a good friend who was having issues with his car. So I don't know where to begin with this car. When he owned the car he said it felt like the car wasnt getting fuel it would stall or something like that. So he replaced the fuel pump. Still having same issues, when he checked the oil it was milky so he was lead to believe it was a blown head gasket. I picked up the car last nite to take possession of it. After reading a few threads it can be other possibilities. I think my first step is to do a leak down and compression check. If I have a blown head gasket, i might as well swap out rings, bearings and cams. The car has 215k miles on it. Is there any factory manuals on the motor to help with a rebuild if I have to go that route or even if I have to do the head gasket. I do most of all my own work on my other cars. If you have recommendations for anything let me know I am open to it.
Old Mar 3, 2015, 10:23 AM
Evolving Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
With that many miles you might want to just rebuild the whole engine.
Old Mar 3, 2015, 10:28 AM

What he said!!
Old Mar 3, 2015, 02:10 PM
Evolved Member

Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts
215K miles with a chocolate shake mixer for an engine. You are a brave man!
Old Mar 3, 2015, 05:52 PM
Evolving Member

Location: Driving ten under in the passing lane, right turn signal on at all times.
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
For your sake, I hope you got it cheap.
Old Mar 3, 2015, 06:20 PM
Evolving Member