Notices
Evo Engine / Turbo / Drivetrain Everything from engine management to the best clutch and flywheel.

Problem after exhaust install

Search this Thread

Old Jul 8, 2004, 07:18 PM
Evolved Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Problem after exhaust install

After Installing my helix catback and downpipe I have been hearing this very odd noise while accelerating. It only happens above 6000 rpms when Im accelerating hard. It sounds like high pressure escaping through a small opening, or kind of like a high pitched blow off valve. When i hear this noise I also feel a decrese in power. Im a newbie to turbocharged cars but would boost spiking, or something to that effect be causing this noise? Also would a leak in one of the exhaust connections cause a noise like this? Im realy puzzled to what it could be, any help would be greatly apreciated.
Old Jul 8, 2004, 07:22 PM
Evolving Member

Sounds like the downpipe/turbo connection might be leaking. Is it from under the hood or under the floor?
Old Jul 8, 2004, 07:29 PM
Evolved Member

Sounds like its coming from the engine so ill check the connection between the dp and turbo. I thought I got it pretty tight, but Ill try to re tighten it tommorow. Now that I think about it, it would make sense that there is a leak there. At first I didnt think that an exhaust leak could make that kind of noise but since it is right near the turbo it makes perfect sense now. Thanks for the insight, I hope it works.
Old Jul 8, 2004, 09:52 PM

I have the opposite noise. I installed my RSR Stainless cat bypassed downpipe. During idle I hear this whinning, whistling noise. It's not loud at all and as I accelerate, the noise disapears. I'm thinking maybe it's because I have no cat and the downpipe is pretty hollow in there.
Old Jul 9, 2004, 12:51 AM