Notices
Evo General Discuss any generalized technical Evo related topics that may not fit into the other forums. Please do not post tech and rumor threads here.
Sponsored by: RavSpec - JDM Wheels Central

How come we don't get turbo timers stock?

Search this Thread

Old Feb 3, 2005, 10:36 PM
Evolving Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
How come we don't get turbo timers stock?

If it is so important to cool down the turbo before shutting off the motor, then shouldn't we have tt's stock? I am new to turbo cars, so could someone help me out here. Is it only nescessary on modded cars? I let my car run at little or no boost for at least 1 minute before shutting it down, is this sufficient?
Thanks for any answers!
Old Feb 3, 2005, 10:40 PM
Evolved Member

1 minute off boost (idleing) is suffcient. TT are for people who want to run hard then get out and go. Like me.
Old Feb 3, 2005, 10:41 PM

A big part of it is cost. The part would be another $100 bucks (forget mass quantity pricing) which would be borne by the customer. The other part is liability. For instance, car gets stolen while turbo timer runs and owner sues manufacturer because of the TT. BTW if you drive with less intensity for the last minute or so, this would render the TT obsolete.
Old Feb 4, 2005, 12:17 AM
Evolving Member

Pretty hard to get stolen if it has safety hookups like my greddy. Once handbrake goes up if it ever goes down engine shuts off. If speedo moves, car turns off.
Old Feb 4, 2005, 01:18 AM
Evolved Member

Originally Posted by avaien
Pretty hard to get stolen if it has safety hookups like my greddy. Once handbrake goes up if it ever goes down engine shuts off. If speedo moves, car turns off.
even the hks has this feature.
funny thing is that some claim that if you put one on then your warranty is screwed.and its not even mitsu, even the dodge dealership here in temecula said that if i put one on my turbo warranty is gone. TT helps prolong the life of the turbo so WTF?!