Notices
Evo General Discuss any generalized technical Evo related topics that may not fit into the other forums. Please do not post tech and rumor threads here.
Sponsored by: RavSpec - JDM Wheels Central

Is this a good deal? Also, I'm looking for some advice....

Search this Thread

Old Jul 12, 2005, 08:46 PM
Evolving Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Is this a good deal? Also, I'm looking for some advice....

'03 Evo, red, 15,xxx miles, optional wing, sunroof, $23,000.

I'm really needing something with more room (I'm a musician, and I carry a lot of equipment with me...I just need a backseat and a trunk), but I want something that's fun to drive too. I owe about $8,000 on my '03 Z06, and with trade-in, this car would fit the bill and be completely paid for upon me getting it. I really wish I could find a good low mileage '04 (preferably in silver) with SSL package on it, but this seems to be a pretty good deal. I'm thinking about going to drive it tomorrow. I know you guys are the experts on Evos, so is there anything in particular I should look for (particularly for signs of abuse, etc)? Is there anything that sucks about the '03 compared to the '04-'05 models (I ask since it's the first year the car was introduced here in the US)? I already know about the '05 change (10.5 hotside, hotter tune, etc), but I'm talking about mechanical problems, etc (like a weaker clutch, etc, for '03 models).

Based on your ownership experience, would you rate this as a good car to buy? I know they're fun to drive, but is the service/build quality/reliability really THAT bad?? I've heard conflicting stories with these issues.