Notices
Evo General Discuss any generalized technical Evo related topics that may not fit into the other forums. Please do not post tech and rumor threads here.
Sponsored by: RavSpec - JDM Wheels Central

05 STi or 05 Evo Mr

Search this Thread

Old Oct 2, 2005, 06:32 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
05 STi or 05 Evo Mr

Hey I am new to the Evo world and am getting ready to sell my 400whp DSM and I am looking to get a STi or Evo. Everyone knows the STi has a near bullet proof clutch and tranny and if you keep the tire pressures high you wont really have any drivetrain problems. I love STi's but they are expensive to mod and if you want over 370whp it is almost imposible on pump and gets expensive. As for the Evo I dont know very much at all. I do know the 4G63 and I know they can make mid 400'swhp which is my goal I would like high 11's low 12's daily driver but can they handle the power. How is the drivetrain compared to the STi I had numerous tranny and transfer case probelms with my dsm did they solve them with the Evo. I have heard the clutches dont last but if the tranny and drivetrain will that is no problem. Also is it worth the extra for the MR. I know the wrx 5-speed is junk and the sti 6-speed is bullet proof none brocken to date does the same go with the Mr 6-speed. Also should I wait to get a 06 IX what are the improvements. Thanks sorry it is so long I just am trying to find the question to the age old question STi or Evo MR. If you think evo which evo MR, IX... so on thanks again.
Old Oct 2, 2005, 06:34 PM
Evolved Member

just get the 9
Old Oct 2, 2005, 06:35 PM
Evolved Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
evo 9 mr
Old Oct 2, 2005, 06:36 PM
Evolved Member

edit
Old Oct 2, 2005, 07:02 PM

so can anyone help me out with the drivetrain and tranny questions of how much power they can handle. Thanks
Old Oct 2, 2005, 07:03 PM
Evolving Member