Notices
Evo General Discuss any generalized technical Evo related topics that may not fit into the other forums. Please do not post tech and rumor threads here.
Sponsored by: RavSpec - JDM Wheels Central

Gauging interest

Search this Thread

Old Oct 29, 2006, 08:37 AM
Evolving Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Gauging interest

I hope I'm not breaking any rules posting this. I'm a machinist/technician for my father in laws mechanical engineering firm. Being a long time do it yourself DSMer, I like making my own parts whenever I can. Brackets, exhaust, IC piping etc.
Long story short a coworker and I over the last few months, using Inventor (3D mechanical engineering design program) some trial and error and mill time made up an adaptor plate that allows you to bolt a T3 series turbo to the stock manifold and incorporates a dumped 38MM tial wastegate off the side. I can't get too into details or post a pic yet because we're possibly going into the patent process since it was made using company resources (trying to find a way around this). Exhaust flow is barely an issue due to the way Inventor, in the hands of a good engineer, is able to maximize flow throughout the piece. Fitament is a little tight on this revision, but good (it's the only way I could include a wastegte into it). When I have some extra cash, I'm going to have it flow tested against a stock manifold's flow. It requires the use of a custom TIG welded O2 housing which I also whipped up, along with a low pro fan, and oil drain and supply lines you can buy at any vendor. The whole thing is made in stainless steel.