Notices
Evo General Discuss any generalized technical Evo related topics that may not fit into the other forums. Please do not post tech and rumor threads here.
Sponsored by: RavSpec - JDM Wheels Central

Advice Needed: Used or New Evo?

Search this Thread

Old Nov 13, 2006, 11:46 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Exclamation Advice Needed: Used or New Evo?

Hi Guys,

Can anyone tell me what exactly one needs to look for when buying a 'Used' Evo? I'm planning to get an Evo but just purchased my car, hence after much yearning I'm still caught in between getting a 'New' Evo IX MR or an Evo VIII. However I've little to none experience in terms of getting a 'Used' car.

Goals:
1. Get an Evo
2. Tune it slightly (Exhaust, Cold Air Intake, BOV, Cams) (Reliability is main concern)
3. Own if forever (Or until it gives out. Whichever comes first) (And then buy the newest Evo Laughing)
4. This will be my first manual car (I have a Prius, whic was my 1st car ever), and I'll be 'learning' stick. Expecation: Damaged clutch & Whole lot of fun.

Advice?
1. What should I look out for when searching for an used Evo online (Mods that I should stay away from, telltale details people like to leave out in posting ad, etc)

2. I recently saw a Evo IX sold on Craigslist stating there was an a problem with the engine and was swapped out under warranty. (Are engine repairs bad? Signs that i should 'stay away'?)

3. Upon testing a used Evo what should I be on the 'lookout' for? Visual inspection(Aside from tires what should a non-Evo driving person lookout for?) Driving (Important tests that I can do. Expectations in terms of performance?)