Notices
Evo General Discuss any generalized technical Evo related topics that may not fit into the other forums. Please do not post tech and rumor threads here.
Sponsored by: RavSpec - JDM Wheels Central

maintenance costs on EVO?

Search this Thread

Old Jun 30, 2007, 12:04 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
maintenance costs on EVO?

So I'm pretty new to the EVO community, and I would like to know what the maintenance is like on this car. Expensive? How much attention do you have to pay to the maintenance on the EVOs, esp the IX? I'm coming from an M3 so I'm used to paying high premiums for this so can someone put it in perspective?
Old Jun 30, 2007, 12:18 AM
BBS
Evolved Member

It's definitely cheaper than your M3 with that 10w60 Castrol. Maintenance is pretty cheap as long as you do the labor yourself. Every shop's Mitchell or Laborkey just lists everything as double time on the Evo over the normal Lancer.
Old Jun 30, 2007, 12:32 AM
Evolved Member

Received 144 Likes on 128 Posts
I supply the labor so I'd say maintenance costs me about $100 a year not counting tires.
Old Jun 30, 2007, 12:37 AM

So one would treat them as any other car? I'm also new to FI. Do FI cars require any special attention? (Turbos, Intercoolers etc)
Old Jun 30, 2007, 12:53 AM
Evolved Member

Yes, in a sense they do require some special attention. Like if you run your car hard, let the engine cool down a bit before you turn off the car.
Old Jun 30, 2007, 04:40 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
if you come from a m3 the evo´s maintenance is going to be dirt cheap for you, specially if you do the maintenance yourself which normally excluding tires and brake pads is just fluid change.