Notices
Evo General Discuss any generalized technical Evo related topics that may not fit into the other forums. Please do not post tech and rumor threads here.
Sponsored by: RavSpec - JDM Wheels Central

boosted for the first time! WOW!

Search this Thread

Old Jun 26, 2003, 12:14 AM
Evolved Member

Received 18 Likes on 12 Posts
boosted for the first time! WOW!

There are no words to describe what I felt. Keep in mind, I'm new to this car and I came from an old 20 second Corolla, heh.

I started at night clearing the road for cops, while warming the car up. All the stoplights refused to turn red, so I just stopped at one of them and proceeded to floor it from 1st to 3rd gear (no launches, too afraid at this point). I'm used to a 3k shift from the break-in, so I was itchin' to feel the G's at higher rpm's.

As soon as first gear hit 3500rpms, I heard the turbo spooling up and me being pushed back into my seat! Quick shift to 2nd and the same thing--it felt like taking off and being lifted into the air on an airplane! The steering was so responsive even at high speeds!

It's 3am and I'm dying to do it again tomorrow. How often do you guys boost a day/week? Am I wearing the car down a lot by boosting or is the car just made to boost frequently?

Last edited by Thoe99; Jun 26, 2003 at 12:25 AM.
Old Jun 26, 2003, 12:25 AM
Evolved Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Re: boosted for the first time! WOW!

Originally posted by Thoe99
How often do you guys boost a day/week? Am I wearing the car down a lot by boosting or is the car just made to boost frequently?
LOL!!! OMG! Is that a serious question because I would expect to hear that from my 13 year old sister but not a fellow evo owner! After the break in period, you're supposed to "boost" every gear every time you drive...it is NOT bad for the car after it breaks in...
Old Jun 26, 2003, 12:27 AM
Evolved Member

Received 18 Likes on 12 Posts
Haha, nice! Exactly what I wanted to hear! I can see how addicting this is, haha.