Notices
Evo General Discuss any generalized technical Evo related topics that may not fit into the other forums. Please do not post tech and rumor threads here.
Sponsored by: RavSpec - JDM Wheels Central

3rd brake light out after tint

Search this Thread

Old Jan 27, 2008, 09:43 PM
Evolving Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
3rd brake light out after tint

I just realized that my third brake light isn't working. It's been about 3 weeks since I got my windows tinted so I assume the guy didn't re-install it correctly after the rear window was done.

In the trunk below the light I've checked the connections and tightened the three main bolts, but it's still out. Nothing looks missing or unconnected, but I'm no expert.

Any ideas?
Old Jan 27, 2008, 10:06 PM
Evolving Member

Check the voltage with a volt meter in the fixture. It is possible for the bulb to have broken if it was bumped too hard during the tint install. Should not be hard to fix, the tint installer should be willing to help out if you are nice when you ask.
Old Jan 27, 2008, 10:49 PM

this is weird ive just discovered im having the same problem, got the windows tinted about a week ago and now my top brake light isnt working also. checked my connections checked my fuses, havent hit it with a test light yet, or a volt meter. pulled it off again and checked the bulb which is also fine. pretty weird to be a coincidence that after tint 2 different cars top brake lights are out... any suggestions other then what was said already?
Old Jan 28, 2008, 01:34 PM
Evolving Member

first and last bump
Old Jan 28, 2008, 02:12 PM
Evolving Member

Theres really nothing else to say. Waynea covered it all. It wouldn't be some mysterious electrical gremlin that decided to come out right when you got your window tinted. So either it didn't work before the window got tinted, and you just didn't know, or it was caused by the person installing the tint.