Notices
Evo General Discuss any generalized technical Evo related topics that may not fit into the other forums. Please do not post tech and rumor threads here.
Sponsored by: RavSpec - JDM Wheels Central

Info on US Evos

Search this Thread

Old Apr 17, 2002, 03:31 AM
Evolving Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Info on US Evos

Hi everyone, I am new to this forum and thought I'd share some info you guys might like. I am actually a huge German car fan and never thought I'd buy a Japanese or American car. But the bang for the buck the Evo offers just can't be ignored. I would like to buy one as soon as they arrive here, as long as I can avoid unreasonable dealer mark ups for the first shipment or two.

Here is the info I have regarding the Evo's US arrival. I am an Aerospace Engineer who just finished taking an extention Automotive Design class for fun through the Pasadena Art Center. My teach works at the Mitsubishi design center in California. According to him, Mitsubishi is planning on importing the Evo 7 starting early next year on a regular basis. They are still working on meeting US standards. They have a few Japanese spec Evo 7s in for the press to use(talk about a lucky job). He showed us one (in red) during our last class. It was gorgeous. It was way cooler looking than the Subaru WRX, or ever the Evo I remember seeing at the LA auto show in January. It had the brembos, the recaros and all the goodies we see on the magazine articles. I tried pushing down on the front to see how much the suspension would travel, and was surprised to feel almost no movement. This worries me as someone who lives in Southern CA, which has a lot of bad roads and freeways. My instructor said that they are planning on selling it for around $35K, which seems a lot higher than the $30K they had mentioned during the auto show. I was always worried that the Evos body kit and wing might make it look too riced out or ugly. No worries there. It looks like an expensive sport sedan and woul