Notices
Evo General Discuss any generalized technical Evo related topics that may not fit into the other forums. Please do not post tech and rumor threads here.
Sponsored by: RavSpec - JDM Wheels Central

Bored, question stumping thread.

Search this Thread

Old Apr 1, 2008, 02:28 PM
Evolved Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Bored, question stumping thread.

I have a freind who is a genius when it comes to mechanics on a car. We were talking today and I was trying to ask questions to stump him and it was impossible.

THEN!!!! I asked him "what if you let a car sit for a whole year, and during that whole year some of your springs are compressed inside the head... how are they ok a year later?"

He did not know....

I can pop out with these questions all day haha

so, how bad is that for the springs? eh??
Old Apr 1, 2008, 02:32 PM
Evolved Member

idk but i wish i had a friend who knew about cars. i know the most out of the ppl i know and im a newb.

but ide say if you leave a car for a year without at least turning it over ever once and a while you dont care about the thing anyway
Old Apr 1, 2008, 02:37 PM

I don't think the spring tension will be affected very much, but letting an engine sit like that not prepped can cause small rust spots in the valves and when started again cause valve leaks.
Old Apr 1, 2008, 02:39 PM
Evolved Member

Received 47 Likes on 43 Posts
I wouldnt let a car go a year without at least starting it once in a while.

Some springs would have to be compressed.

However in reality it would be fine cause you would drain the oil and fill with new coating alot of the springs and rockers anyway. It would be noisey for a little
Old Apr 1, 2008, 02:57 PM
Evolved Member