Notices
Evo General Discuss any generalized technical Evo related topics that may not fit into the other forums. Please do not post tech and rumor threads here.
Sponsored by: RavSpec - JDM Wheels Central

Does Ralliart operate a lot like TRD?

Search this Thread

Old Aug 5, 2003, 11:28 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Does Ralliart operate a lot like TRD?

My last few cars were Toyotas and after gaining experience with them I got to know how TRD (Toyota Racing Development) operates. TRD has a history of taking off the shelf parts, slapping their name on them, and selling them at a higher cost. For example, their springs are relabeled Eibachs, and their filters are K&N units with the TRD logo on them. People of coarse could buy the same exact springs and filters with out the TRD logos for a fraction of the cost, and a lot of people caught on. This is why a lot of Toyota enthusiasts reguard TRD as a joke of a company. Can the same be said for Ralliart? I'm totally new to Mitsu's and I'm not even sure was Ralliart offers.
Old Aug 6, 2003, 04:15 AM
Evolving Member

no i belive ralliart parts are acually quite good (well i guess it depends on what parts your talking about)
Old Aug 6, 2003, 06:12 AM
Evolving Member

i know their struts were rebadged KYB, and their drop in filters are either K&Ns rebadged or clones. They do have some original parts though, like radiator mounts, suction kits, ETC.
Old Aug 6, 2003, 05:35 PM
Evolving Member

TRD may use eibach springs but they are manufactured to TRD's spring rates. In particular TRD Japan products are probably the best engineered OEM parts. They blend a perfect balance of reliability and extra performance.

Ralli Art products are great but they are primarily intended for Group N and A rallying. Not so much for road racing or street use.
Old Aug 6, 2003, 05:56 PM
Evolved Member

Originally posted by defeated26