Notices
Evo General Discuss any generalized technical Evo related topics that may not fit into the other forums. Please do not post tech and rumor threads here.
Sponsored by: RavSpec - JDM Wheels Central

Some things i've noticed as a new evo owner.

Search this Thread

Old Apr 18, 2008, 03:06 PM
Evolving Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Some things i've noticed as a new evo owner.

Well, since this is my first evo im totally new to the little quirks it has.

1) One thing i have noticed is that tranny and engine NHV (noise harshness vibration) increases when i let go of the clutch in neutral. There is a small...wirling noise that i can't really describe except that its only audible in neutral WITHOUT the clutch in.

2)At a light, im in neutral WITHOUT the clutch in, i go to put it in first by pressing the clutch and shifting....and the car "nudges" a little as i put it in gear. its actually right when its put into gear...the car moves forward every so slightly. Is that normal? I have no problem going into any gear (except reverse...see below). They all "snick" smoothly.

3)My key doesn't like to come out of the ignition. I have to "jiggle" and "play around" with the key so that it comes out. Its not smooth at all, and the ignition socket feels loose.

4) reverse is a PITA to get into. Its not crunchy or muddy or anything like that. it just lockes me out somethings like i can't even get it into gear. I have to regularly go into first, THEN reverse. This is random though....sometimes its smooth going into reverse, sometimes not.
Do you guys have the same experience?

Last edited by boostedawd; Apr 18, 2008 at 03:09 PM.
Old Apr 18, 2008, 03:13 PM
Evolving Member

welcome to the world of runs and works OK
Old Apr 18, 2008, 03:16 PM

i agree with #4.. i have to go into first then go into reverse or put it into neutral first.. lol..
Old Apr 18, 2008, 03:25 PM
Evolved Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post