Notices
Evo General Discuss any generalized technical Evo related topics that may not fit into the other forums. Please do not post tech and rumor threads here.
Sponsored by: RavSpec - JDM Wheels Central

EVO Maintenance costs are high?

Search this Thread

Old Aug 17, 2003, 08:40 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
EVO Maintenance costs are high?

From a different thread, I posted that I was trying to decide between buying a $19,500 WRX and putting about $3000 in mods into it, vs. a $28,000 EVO. I figured that the EVO would only cost me $2000 more over three years, but that's not considering the maintenance costs (and higher insurance). Are the maintenance costs on this thing REALLY going to be much higher than the WRX?
Old Aug 17, 2003, 08:59 PM
Evolving Member

Well, I'm still in the 2,000-mile status so I wouldn't know. I'm still a newbie with the Evo. I change my own oil and fluids so I wouldn't really know how much it actually costs for maintenance. I would assume around $25 for an oil change is about right, right?
Old Aug 17, 2003, 10:00 PM
Evolving Member

How do you figure they'd be higher than a WRX at all?
Old Aug 17, 2003, 10:21 PM

Well, the tires that come on the EVO are reported to last about 15,000 miles, if that, which would be about a year. So in the first year, I'm going to need to spend about $600 on replacement tires. Additionally, I heard the brakes wear quickly, as does the stock clutch. All of these items are pretty expensive fixes.
Old Aug 17, 2003, 10:24 PM
Evolving Member

Yeah, but think of it this way, if you bought a WRX, to bring it up to the performance of an EVO, you'd be spending well more than new tires, new brakes, etc.
Old Aug 17, 2003, 10:45 PM
Evolved Member

I don't feel that the maintenance cost on an evo are bad at all. Of course if you were to compare them to a budget economoy car they might seam unreasonable.