Notices
Evo General Discuss any generalized technical Evo related topics that may not fit into the other forums. Please do not post tech and rumor threads here.
Sponsored by: RavSpec - JDM Wheels Central

Body Design Lifecycle - Is this year 1 for the US evo?

Search this Thread

Old Aug 27, 2003, 12:08 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Body Design Lifecycle - Is this year 1 for the US evo?

Gentlemen,

Newb...here (to Evolution and the forum) .....sorry for the most likely easy question. (I am wearing an antiflame suite just in case)

Again, I am new to the EVO itself and do not have an extensive knowledge of the cars history..... sorry if this a redundant question.

Searched FAQs, and forums and couldn't find a original version of the following questions.

1) Is the US body design entirely new? or is it a modification of VII body?

2) Is the US spec truely considered VIII?

Reason for the question is... if it is a new design to the JDM and US market then my question is answered.

If it is NOT a entirely new version...then what year of the body design's lifecycle would we be in if it were the JDM market?

I'm curious because if it were in year 4-5 of the designs lifespan then a NEWER version should be iminent for release ? no? and would Mistubishi be crazy enough to change designs for 2004 or maybe 2005?

Question 3

3) Does anyone know when 2004's models will start showing up in the US? Or are they already here?

Thank you in advance
Old Aug 27, 2003, 12:26 PM
Evolved Member

1) It is a modded VII design with the new 'Pontiac' centerpiece

2) It officially listed as plain EVO, but we do have VIII floormats.

The US '04 Ralliart Lancers have new headlights design. There have been a few passed around photos of the next gen EVO with those new lights. I'm guessin in '05 for the next EVO change.

3) '04 generally arrive in fall - so anytime soon
Old Aug 27, 2003, 12:30 PM

Thanx Kdogg.

Quick and to the point..

I appreciate it..thanx again.
Old Aug 27, 2003, 12:35 PM